Welcome to the SRP Forum! Please refer to the SRP Forum FAQ post if you have any questions regarding how the forum works.

OLE Control

I have an OLE control added to a form I'm working on and I have it set to visible. When I run the form in OpenInsight 9.4 the OLE Control still isn't visible even after setting the background color, looking to add other controls such as combo boxes and static texts from a stored procedure. Anyone know why this may be happening?

Comments

• Is the OLE control you added to the form specifically the SRP Panel control?
  • I was trying to originally but right now I have an OLE Control from the Tool box in the Form Designer and I'm not able to see it when I'm running. My main goal is to be able to add controls onto the form by a click of a button when its running and from what I read it looks like an OLE control is the way to go however if that's not the case please let me know. I'm fairly new to OpenInsight and SRP controls. Thanks!
  • I appreciate the explanation of what you are attempting to do. There are a few things that we need to go over. Some of this might be already known to you, but since you said you were new to OpenInsight, I am going to err on the side of caution.

Whenever you place the OLE control onto a form in the Form Designer tool, it will always appear invisible. This is because OI does not draw anything on the control. Thus, it can be hard to see unless you enabled the Border property (which you can do via the Properties dialog). I like to do this until I actually set the Prog ID of the 3rd party ActiveX control. Regardless, always remove the Border property before testing and deploying.

If you are new to OpenInsight, you might not have read any of the documentation on using OLE controls with OpenInsight. There is the documentation that Revelation provides, but you might also find our own Using OLE in OpenInsight whitepaper of use. It's an old paper, but still valid.