Welcome to the SRP Forum! Please refer to the SRP Forum FAQ post if you have any questions regarding how the forum works.

How to test methods of COM control in OpenInsight platform

Hello,

I've developed one COM control in .Net and the Prog ID is "ProgIDClassLibrary.TestCOM" and my application has one method with name Test() (sample method) which returns "Hello" as a popup. My control has come to the open insight interface by entering Prog ID in the text column in the form designer window. Please provide me the steps to test my procedure Test() in open-insight platform.

My sample method:
void Test()
{
MessageBox.Show("Hello");

}

Please provide the steps to call the above method from Open Insight platform.

User: Babu

Comments

• Babu,

What version of OpenInsight are you using?
  • OpenInsight - 9.4.0 (Evaluation version)

• Babu,

Then try this:
    Obj = OleCreateInstance("ProgIDClassLibrary.TestCOM") Result = OleCallMethod(Obj, "Test")
  • I'm very new to OpenInsight platform. Could you please give me the steps so that I can replicate.
    Please find the steps what I've done:
    1. Opened Forms Designer Window, selected new form - put one OLE-Interface on to it and entered ProgID in the "text" field.
    2. I got the control now into the interface.

Please suggest me the steps, where I should write the above code given by you
  • Hello Don,

Please assist me on where should I write the lines to test the method "Test"

• I'm very new to OpenInsight platform. Could you please give me the steps so that I can replicate.
    Please find the steps what I've done:
    1. Opened Forms Designer Window, selected new form - put one OLE-Interface on to it and entered ProgID in the "text" field.
    2. I got the control now into the interface.
    Working with COM and OpenInsight is normally an advanced topic. If you are new to OpenInsight then you will struggle without some fundamental training.